2016 ANZAC Trophy – Wrap Up Report

25 April 2016

ANZAC Trophy Sabres racing at EFYC 24 April 2016

15 Sabres fronted the starting line at East Fremantle YC, 11 from the home club, 3 from Perth Dinghy SC, one from Maylands YC and one from Safety Bay YC. Our youngest sailor George Coop put in a credible performance, having just graduated from a Bic.

This event has traditionally been held at EFYC for keel boats, but the growing Sabre dinghy fleet was invited to participate in 2015. That year, one race was sailed, but this year, it was decided that 2 races should be sailed and it was advertised to other clubs sailing Sabres.

The wind was light North Westerly, averaging about 8 knots, so two short races were sailed, using a windward/leeward course.

The first race was convincingly won by Pete Coop, in a shifting and erratic North Westerly, which, combined with an outgoing tide, made racing challenging. Second was Simon Walker, in his wooden boat. Craig Nyland who went against local knowledge and ran down the south side of the course in better pressure, against the tide, finished 3rd.

The second race saw similar conditions, with Pete Coop taking an early lead and he was never headed. Simon Walker from the home club in a wooden boat took second place, while Peter Johnston was third.

In both races, the minor places changed frequently, as sailors chased the wind and shifts, while avoiding the adverse tide (or using it).

We welcomed Heidi and Narelle from PDSC, who joined Kelly Mirragliotta to make up 20% of the fleet, a record of women sailors for any Sabre open meeting in WA. We will see more of them in the future.

The final result was Pete Coop, first, Simon Walker second, with Graham Hill, third.

Charlotte Coop provided excellent support to the PRO Pru Heinz.

This series will be repeated next year, probably on Anzac Day itself and it’s hoped it will become a regular event on the Sabres calendar.

Peter Johnston


Race 1

  1. Pete Coop 2057
  2. Simon Walker 1876
  3. Craig Nyland 2011
  4. Graham Hill 2058
  5. Carl 2043
  6. Steve Knight 2064
  7. David Quinn 2014
  8. Peter Johnson
  9. Heidi 1841
  10. Jim Gregson 1943
  11. Blair 1875
  12. Kelly Miragliotta 1947
  13. Chris Holyday 2042
  14. Narelle Thomas 1852
  15. George Coop 1633

Race 2

  1. Pete Coop 2057
  2. Simon Walker 1876
  3. Peter Johnson
  4. Graham Hill 2058
  5. Heidi 1841
  6. Blair 1875
  7. David Quinn 2014
  8. Chris Holyday 2042
  9. Jim Gregson 1943
  10. Kelly Miragliotta 1947
  11. Narelle Thomas 1852

Carl Girolamo 2043  RTD 
Steve Knight 2064  DNS
George Coop 1633  DNS
Craig Nyland 2011 DNS


1st Pete Coop
2nd Simon Walker
3rd Graham Hill
4th Peter Johnson
5th Heidi Miller
6th Dave Quinn
7th Blair Miecklejohn
8th Craig Nyland
9th Jim Gregson
10th Carl Girolamo
11th Chris Holyday
12th Steve Knight
13th Kelly Miraigliotta
14th Narelle Thomas
15th George Coop


          IMG 5304                IMG 5325