Choosing the right Sabre

Home Forums Other Stuff Newbie Questions Choosing the right Sabre

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    jeffreystahl
    Participant

I am a newbie having registered on the site today. I have been sailing for 30 years and have sailed sabots and cats (Maricats and Hobie 16). Now the children are leaving sailing, I have done some research over the last few weeks and have settled on the Sabre to be the right boat for my needs. I have not however yet seen or sailed one but I see they are sailed at Cleveland and Southport YC. I am very interested in buying a vgc boat with f/glass/wooden hull and varnished cockpit/deck with a good road trailer. I will be joining the SSAA and Cleveland YC in the next couple of weeks, but in the meantime I will be looking around for a good Sabre. Can any member offer me advice on what in particular to look for/be aware of when looking for a used Sabre? I am looking to spend around $2000. Many thanks in advance for your help and the great website!

sabre_admin
    Keymaster

i dont see how you could get a competitive boat to those in the top 15 of the national titles for $2000.00 with a trailer included my experience has been that as boats are sailed regularly they tend to loose stiffness and gain weight- i think that you would expect to pay around $3000-$4000 for a boat that has any chance of making the top 30- sure i have been told that a really hot sailor could win with just a bed sheet but the newer the boat the more frisky the hull is my opinion

heymacaulay
    Keymaster

Hi David

First of all, welcome to the sabre association. You have chosen a truly great boat to sail and I hope you find a boat that’s right for you real soon.

I tend to agree with Peter that you will find it hard to find a good glass boat for $2000 let alone with a trailor.
    But, I disagree that you need to pay more money just to be competative.