Sabre or Mirror?

Home Forums Other Stuff Newbie Questions Sabre or Mirror?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    nicolas5178
    Participant

Hi all,
    I’m grappling with the decision of what dinghy to buy. I am new to sailing and will probably need to do a lot of my early sailing singleghanded.
    Can I learn in a Sabre, or am I better to get a Mirror because it is more stable? I was told the Sabres are more ‘tippy’?
    I accept I will probably take a swim either way but I would like to spend more time in the boat than out of it if possible! I am a late thirties Mum of around 70kg.
    Any thoughts much appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Melissa

dulciechristense
    Participant

Melissa

Your choice of a boat involves consideration of many factors.

Your current options are really quite different boats.

If you intend to go racing, the Sabre would be favoured as it is presently more popular, especially in Victoria and particularly in Gippsland – GLYC at Paynesville has quite a large fleet.

Mirrors have been in decline for many years – in my club in the seventies we had 250 Mirrors on our register and had racing fleets averaging 75 boats – we now have about four in the racks and only one or two racing.

The Sabre will offer much more thrilling sailing than the Mirror but in absolute terms is never-the-less a very stable and easy-to-sail boat.

A Sabre, new or secondhand, will cost a good deal more than a Mirror but resale will be proportionally greater.

Maintenance requirements would be similar for each.

Both are simple and easy to rig.

They weigh about the same – perhaps the Sabre is a little lighter!

Your weight is ideal for the Sabre.

Your age is no barrier – Sabre sailors range from 15 to 90.

Other considerations:
    Do you want to take the kids racing?
    Do you have a long haul to the water?