Centreboard/dagerboard positions

Home Forums Development & Design Rigs & Sails Centreboard/dagerboard positions

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    krystalcrooks90
    Participant

Is sailing the Sabre the same as any other dinghy class in that the board position is full down going uphill and less and less as you come off the breeze? ie to almost no board for a run?

Does anyone deviate from this?

dulciechristense
    Participant

I’m relatively new to the class but I do like to have a bit of board (maybe 150 – 300 mm) down when running proud.

I do this because, when I look at boats behind me (it’s easier to see their attitude from dead ahead), those with their boards well up do seem to be making a lot of leeway and I think the forces being exerted to push these boats sideways would be better used to drive them forward.

I would be interested to hear what the “experts” do as I don’t get in front of them too often.

lamarstrehlow74
    Participant

Hi Mike
    I’m no expert but i agree with your thoughts about having too much board up. It also means that any hiking results in the boat skidding side ways rather than foward. I would have thought skidding side ways would mean lots of drag compared with the drag of having the board down a bit. Maybe those who have been in the class for ages can shed some light.

Cheers
    matt
    Zahir

andrewr
    Participant

Hi,

Your general premise is right. My experience is you need the board fully down when going upwind no matter how strong the wind is.

On a reach, it should be about half way down – the amount is best measured by feel. As Matt points out, you need to have just enough down so that if you hike out hard to flatten the boat it shoots forwards, rather than just skidding sideways.