Laser V Sabre

Home Forums Other Stuff Newbie Questions Laser V Sabre

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    heymacaulay
    Keymaster

I’m a middle aged novice/intermediate sailor (2 yrs experience) looking at sailing single handed. I’m wondering if I can have peoples opinion of the Sabre V Laser and the different boats characteristics to help make a decision which way to go.

Thanks

salliemerry674
    Participant

i think sabre’s are the best because there are good numbers around australia. they are a lot easyer to sail for beginers, you really need like 3 or 4 years in the sport before you can take on a laser.

to sail a laser it is 1 of the hardest boats to sail where a sabre is 1 of the easest to sail

heymacaulay
    Keymaster

Craig , both boats have there place.

Performance wise Lasers point higher and are faster than a sabre with a larger sail area for the full rig compared to the Sabre. Lasers are also around in large numbers and for many sailors an enjoyable boat.

Given they are the olympic dinghy class, they also attract a number of sailors who can take there racing very very very seriously. This can be displayed on both land as well as out in the water. Depends on which club you goto of course but this alone can be an interesting experience.

Lasers can also be hard to handle on occasions, especially in waves or swell conditions with lots of chop. Not to mention in a blow when you may find yourself going in alot down wind or when gust blow you over. The Sabre is more forgiving in both these areas.

The Sabre was designed for Port Phillip Bay in Victoria which has lots of waves , chop , swell etc. so cruising on a nice fast reach and catching waves can be great fun. Given the hard chines of the Sabre , the boat rides waves and responds well. The Laser has a much rounder curved bottom so in the same conditions can be very unstable.