New to the class

Home Forums Development & Design Rigs & Sails New to the class

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    heymacaulay
    Keymaster

Hi, I am new to the class. I’ve just bought an old boat 1177and have sailed 2 races, one in 5-8 knots, and yesterday in 20-25 knots.
    I’ve sailed 505 and sharpies for years, and never having sailed a single hander before, and not having a jib, I need a bit of help please.
    Yesterday in 20-25 knots, I was killed upwind. the boat was choked and bobby if I tried to point with the others in the fleet, and when I did sail for speed, my height was very low, and I could not find the happy medium.
    I did notice that the leeward side stay upwind was waving around in the breeze, and downwind the forestay was v. slack.
    I would like to know please;
    1. Rig tension for various breezes, as measured on the Loos gauge.
    2. Heavy air sail trim, end of boom position, vang tension, cunningham eye tension, foot outhaul tension, traveller position
    3. Should the centrebrd be raised up wind ?
    4. Heavy air steering technique, ie it seemed that if the boat was sailed high and slow it went sideways moreso ?
    5. I did notice upwind yesterday that no matter how much vang, the top batten was mostly inverted, or the top 25% of the sail was back winding,
    is this ok ?
    All assistance will be greatfully received, I’m new and keen.
    Thanks, Alan, [email protected]

Meryl Todd
    Participant

I use the following settings for sidestays measured on a Loos Model A for 2.4 mm 1×19 wire

wind- knots

condition

scale

tension – kg

underpowered

optimal

20 plus

overpowered

113 after max downhaul tension applied

The concept is to keep slight tension on the leeward shroud going to windward.

Replicate the tension by datum marking the forestay tensioning cord.

heymacaulay
    Keymaster

Hi Alan,