Replacement mainsheet block anchor

Home Forums Other Stuff Newbie Questions Replacement mainsheet block anchor

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    mjshaw
    Participant

Hello Sabre sailors
    I’m new to the class and need to replace the 6inch SS swivel post that anchors the bottom mainsheet block to the hull. It sheared off at the bearing on Sunday and I need a new one before the State Titles next weekend. I’m in Melbourne. I’m not sure what the part is actually called and if it is common/standard. Mine is a Ronstan anchor point (4 screws) and a Harken block. I’ve studied both the Ronstan and Harken websites but it doesn’t seem to rate a mention. Any advice would be welcome.
    Thanks
    James

rochelledover74
    Participant

Hi

They are made and sold by John Dixon,
    IECON Boats
    2/15 Kearney Street
    Bayswater
    Ph : 9729 1188
    Fax: 9729 0198
    Contact John Dixon
    [email protected]

You can also use a rope strop as an altunative see Chris’s Fitout guide:
    https://www.sabre.org.au/australia_documents/Chris_Dance_Sabre_Rigging_Guide.pdf

mjshaw
    Participant

Thanks Jack
    I’ll give John a call.
    James

lucasa103380
    Participant

As I understand it the stainless post came about due to a rule interpretation that has since changed – a bit of string as per the Chris Dance rigging guide is definitely the standard option these days and is a quick, cheap, easily adjusted and toe-friendly option. Hold it off the floor with a shock cord.

mjshaw
    Participant

Thanks Daen
    I called John Dixon at Iecon but he didn’t want to sell a single unit.
    I’ve been given a Dynaema strop by Wayne Bates which I’ll use this weekend at Somers.
    Thanks for the advice.
    James

clarencebrose67
    Participant